Dough Recipe

veggiedoughI realized it has been a long time since my last post considering how much time I love to spend on projects. My latest projects have been with the dough that I concocted using a recipe my mom forwarded to me (some of her products shown above). The bad news it that after a week, the entire supply began to mold. Clearly I didn’t put enough preservatives into it. People who have seen the figurines that I did manage to make and preserve have asked me for the recipe. I had to translate it but here it is:

You’ll need:
Sticky Rice Flour
All Purpose Flour
Salt
Alum Powder
Other Food Preservatives
Food Colouring

1. Mix 4 parts all-purpose flour with 1 part sticky rice flour, mix evenly.

2. Add 2 parts water to the mixture and mix evenly into dough, can add parts of water or flour to adjust to desired consistency.

3. Separate dough into palm-sized balls and boil in water until they float.

4. Retrieve the dough balls and let it cool to room temperature.

5. Once cooled, add refined salt, alum powder, and other food preservatives.

6. Mix primary food colours (red, blue, yellow, green) into dough (make sure you use gloves if you’re kneading with your hands). To obtain specific colours when making figuirines, just mix the primary colours together until you get the right colour.

7. Keep the dough in a sealed, dry place. If the dough dries out, steam it in a rice cooker or over some water.

Feel free to go nuts with the preservatives (salt, alum powder). Happy doughing!

Explore posts in the same categories: dough, materials

One Comment on “Dough Recipe”

  1. Milly Says:

    剛好我昨天有幫媽媽查了捏麵人的資料,
    如果妳想要保存的話~ 記得要上透明漆~~

    下面是網站上寫的:
    捏麵作品最好是自然陰乾,不宜曝曬陽光。作品陰乾後可噴上亮光漆,約一星期後再噴上第二層,如此連續數次即可保存。但是現在的樹脂捏麵人無需噴上任何東西,很快速的就會變硬,作品表面髒了,只要用布來擦拭清潔及可永遠保存。


Leave a comment